Stegaliuniverse


Relationship Questionaire Meme by stegaliu
February 18, 2009, 10:33 pm
Filed under: Family

I, like Dooce, don’t love all the crazy meme’s that float around Facebook but this one was a nice way to reflect on my currently absent husband and our past 5.5 years together.  I figured since he is working his butt off and sleeping on couches it’s the least I could do.

What are your middle names?
My middle name Marie, just like my mom and my sister.  Patrick’s middle name is Phillip, after his dad.

How long have you been together?
Married for 1.5 years, together for 5.5 years.

How long did you know each other before you started dating?
0 days.  Haha.  No really.  We barely knew each other at all before we started dating.  In reality I’ll say a month but that’s going with a very loose interpretation of the word “know”.

Who asked whom out?

Well I asked him to give up his free weekend to be the sound guy on a friends film but he asked me to the party after the shoot where he kissed me so…it’s a tie.

How old are each of you?

I’m 25 and he’s 26.

Whose siblings do you see the most?
Mine.  When we lived in NYC and Eli and Thomas were still Northeastern-ers we saw them more but now that they seceded to the South (and took our beloved Carter with them) it’s down to less than a handful of times a year.  We see at least 1 of my siblings every week and over the holidays my brother Chris basically lived in our guest room.

Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple?
Hmm.  I think that’s a difficult question because we’ve had a pretty easy time of it.  I think the hardest things would be work related.  Because we were always freelance and now only one of us is we differ on how to handle unemployed time, future planning, etc.  I tend to try to be proactive and Patrick just tends to form ulcers.

Did you go to the same school?
Same school, same major, same early graduation date because we just couldn’t handle the idea of school anymore.  Oh how times have changed.

Are you from the same home town?
No. I’m from outside Philadelphia and Patrick is from Little Rock.  Oddly there are many things about each place that remind me of the other, not necessarily good things, but even though they seem like they should be very different, I don’t think they are.

Who is smarter?
Oh this is a question just begging to be asked.  Patrick has an uncanny ability to be able to have an factoid for just about anything you would want to talk about.  Little do you all know but I’ll guestimate that he makes up about 25-30% of these factoids.  He gives the appearances of intelligence by merely overwhelming you with facts that you wouldn’t know were true or not.  That being said, he’s smarter.  I’m pretty sure the older I get the less smart I’ve become.  My memory deteriorates every day.  I’d look into it if only I could remember.

Who is the most sensitive?
Patrick.  No question.

Where do you eat out most as a couple?
We rarely eat out but when we do it’s usually somewhere new.

Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple?
Thailand.

Who has the craziest exes?
Patrick.  Not crazy in that bad sense of it, well not all of them.  I can’t elaborate on this unfortunately.  Just know my ex’s are vaguely normal.

Who has the worst temper?
Me.  Bad temper and a short fuse for the wrong situation.  Patrick can just take it in and bottle it up and you’d almost swear that he didn’t even experience the thing that would have made any other sane person red in the face with anger.  I, on the other hand, get mad if a recipe is written badly and storm around the kitchen banging things and cursing.

Who does the cooking?
We both cook a fair bit but Patrick can attest to me not liking it as much as he does.  He lives for an elaborate meal and just his listing of his plan for Valentine’s dinner nearly gave me an anxiety attack.  I like things simple, straightforward, delicious and preferably in one pot. This is why noodle dishes are my favorite.  Patrick wants and will cook 6 courses and the whole kitchen will look like a bomb exploded in it.

Who is the neat-freak?
Neither.  We are both messy.  Not dirty, just messy.

Who is more stubborn?
Both of us are very stubborn.  We could both argue a point that we don’t even care about for hours just to be “right”.  It’s insanely frustrating since I am always right and he just won’t relent.  Jeez.

Who hogs the bed?
Hmm.  Patrick is almost twice my size so technically he hogs the bed by default but I tend to steal the covers.

Who wakes up earlier?
Me.  Patrick used to be the type who would sleep until noon but slowly, over many painstaking years, I’ve gotten him to get up around 8-9 on a weekend.  My body doesn’t understand the concept of “sleeping in”.

Where was your first date?
Technically we had be dating for a month or 2 before we really went on a date.  On our first official date we went to Cosi.  Unfortunately the quality of that particular chain has suffered so much we don’t really go back to reminisce.

Who is more jealous?
Hmm.  I have no idea.  It’s never erally been an issue.

How long did it take to get serious?
I think we were always pretty serious.

Who eats more?
Hard to believe (I hope) but me.  It’s a bad habit I am trying to break.  I seriously shouldn’t be able to eat more than him.  It’s gross.

Who does the laundry?
Patrick.  He’s just not allowed to fold mine because I’m a folding Nazi.

Who’s better with the computer?
Patrick.  To me, a computer is just a TV I can type on.

Who drives when you are together?

Usually, Patrick.  Sometimes I request the drivers seat but more often than not, it’s him.  I’ll cop to being a bad side seat driver and also a bad road trip companion.  I’m usually asleep in minutes.

So that’s that.  Time for bed.  Just me snuggling with Maddie.  She’s cute but a poor substitute for Patrick.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great to learn some things I didn’t know about you two. Thanks for posting. Miss you both. Love.Mom/Helen

Comment by Helen

Nicely done, Kir, a good insight into you both. I am terrified E will want us to write one up next!

Comment by T

oooh i loved that. i am considering doing that too! thankyou kirsten!

Comment by aarti

I can’t believe you two have been together than long. We are aging much faster than I want to admit.
I miss you guys.

Comment by Gary




Leave a Reply

