Stegaliuniverse


Making Stuffing with MumMum by stegaliu
November 25, 2008, 8:05 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Today I went to my MumMum’s house so she could teach me how to make her wonderful, delicious turkey stuffing that we eat each and every Thanksgiving and Christmas.  It’s a tradition I don’t ever plan on giving up because it’s hands down the best stuffing in the whole world.  Make it for yourself and see:

This recipe is enough for a 22 lb turkey.

First you start off with your bread.  Nice, plain ole white bread and a lot of it (2.5 large loaves).

img_3574

Note: Using a pro-Irish bowl helps with the flavor.  Break the bread into small, but not too small, pieces.  Salt and pepper lightly (Don’t worry, you’ll do it again).

img_35751

img_3576

Then for he special ingredients, marjoram and thyme leaves.  I was told to only use McCormicks and to make sure they are leaves, not ground.  I don’t mess with MumMum’s proclamations.

img_3583

img_3585

Sprinkle about 1/4 of the small jar of each spice for all the bread.

img_3586

img_3590

Add 1/3 of the celery. Then, lightly mix the bread with your hands, giving light squeezes but don’t mush it!

img_3598

img_3593

Repeat this 3 times, mixing each time.  You’ll end up with about 1/4 of the thyme and marjoram leaves left over.  Don’t use more than this or it’ll be too strong.

Now on to the stove top!

Heat a large, deep pan on the stovetop on medium high heat.  If you are MumMum, heat 2 to move a little faster.  These are the things you invest in when you make stuffing for a large family for 40+ years.

img_3604

Next, get your other ingredients ready.  Finely chop about 3 stalks of celery, 1 large white onion and a little more than half a package of bacon.

img_3561

img_3560

If you are using 2 pans like we are, sprinkle 1/4 of the bacon in each pan.

img_3607

And now for the most important ingredient, BUTTER!

img_3605

Add about a half stick of butter to each pan and mix it with the bacon.  Be careful not to let the bacon burn or get too crispy.

Next add 1/4 of the onion to each pan and stir.

img_3614

Then add 1/4 of the seasoned bread to each pan.

img_3617

This part is very important.  You much stir constantly.  Not occasionally.  Not sporaditcally.  You must stir and flip the bread to prevent it from toasting.  I was told this is the most important part of the process.  If you aren’t vigilant you risk ruining the stuffing!

img_3620

After about 5 minutes of stirring the stuffing should be slightly browner but the bread should still be soft with only a few toasty parts.  it looks something like this:

img_3621

Once it’s finished, pour it into a stock pot to store and do it all over again, 3 times if you used one pan or once more in 2 more pans.  Once you are all finished you will have enough of this gorgeous stuffing to fill a giant bird or a smaller bird with some left over.  I recommend making in inside the bird, not in a casserole dish, for the ultimate experience.

img_3623

Big thanks to my MumMum and to her mom who she learned it from.  We are lucky to have her pass this yummy tradition on to us and we’ll surely be enjoying it for many years to come.  Thanks, MumMum!  I love you!

img_3558

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have this recipe and I have made it myself several times but some how it never tastes the same as Mum mum’s….I think you captured it best today!! I am crying reading this because it brings back so many memories of me making it with my own Grandmom Shillingford. I love traditions and now I know this recipe will never be forgotten. I am so glad you and Mum-mum have kept the tradition going. I miss my Grandmom so much…and this keeps her memory alive for me. Thanks Kirstin for keeping the tradition going. We are alll blessed to have one another and to share so many good times like this together. I love you! Love, Mom

Comment by Donna

I will have to say I will never be able to make this as good as Mom’s!!! I only make the BEST choc chip cookies….That is what everyone will remember me by!!! Love you!!Allison

Comment by Allison

Love it!! You made Mom (Mum Mum) so proud!! I loved steeling it from the Pot the night before before she stuffed the bird……ALL I have to say is you better save me some…..we are going to my in-laws for dinner – we’ll see you for Dessert!

Comment by Karen

This sounds great! Papaw always made our dressing, and though I have the recipe it’s never the same as his. Hope you’ll make Mumum’s dressing for us sometime. Love.Helen (other Mom)

Comment by Anonymous




Leave a Reply

